Photo

Your Preferred Settings On Your Dslr

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
10 replies to this topic

#1 DGKSON

DGKSON
  • Members
  • 13 posts

Posted 03 May 2010 - 10:22 AM

Hey guys,

I thought it would be really cool to discuss setting's you commonly use on your DLSR camera, in different situations and using different settings.. I'm new to filming with an SLR, and like many people, am trying to get comfortable in as many different situations as possible.

So what settings do you commonly use in different situation's of filming skating? (Fisheye, long lense and prime shot's) and what changes when you film still shots, panning shots, follow/rolling shots?

I'd love to hear any advice in regards to aperture, shutter, iso etc in different skating situations.

#2 Create

Create
  • Established Member
  • 331 posts

Posted 03 May 2010 - 12:30 PM

i usually shoot 1/50 1920x1080 24fps with the lowest iso possible

picture style neutral with contrast and sharpness all the way down and color level down 2 notches with highlight tone priority on. i shot some stuff with superflat and cinegamma s curve and the work it takes in post to make that footage look good is almost not worth it.

#3 GL2FilmerGuy

GL2FilmerGuy

Sponsored By Canon

• 3,093 posts

Posted 03 May 2010 - 10:54 PM

I shoot sharpness at 2, and everything else almost all the way down. I always shoot at 160 ISO too, in order to get the lowest noise. If I'm not gonna do CC, I just use standard settings, but with ISO 160.

Skateperception: bringing you 4 years of sexual harassment.

Nikon just got uppercutted by Johnny Cage, into the pit.

5D MKIII
Posted Image
Posted Image
Posted Image x2

#4 TimFok

TimFok
  • 3,482 posts

Posted 04 May 2010 - 05:26 PM

Shooting on my 7D.

Picture style: (based on Standard) Sharpness 2, contrast -4, saturation -1.

General settings:

Highlight priority tone - OFF
Noise Reduction - OFF
Auto Lighting Optimiser - OFF