SkatePerception
baphoto

Manual Settings

im a beginner and no crap all about cameras all i know is using the manual settings is the best for skating and there are just some question i have on manual settings...

1. What are some manual settings? eg. shutter speed, white balance(the only 2 i now)

2. What do these manual settings do? eg. what does white balance do?

3. How do we use these settings when skating?

thanks in advance and im sure that this would also help out beginner camera people like me.

1. What are some manual settings? eg. shutter speed, white balance(the only 2 i now)

Add exposure/aperature to the list. I suppose you could consider the ND filter, which is essentially sunglasses for your camera, and auto focus on/off a manual setting.

2. What do these manual settings do? eg. what does white balance do?

White balance tells the camera what colour white is. Remember that white is made up of all other colours mixed together, so once you get white "correct", everything else falls into place. A sheet of white A4 paper or light grey paint cards from a DIY store give the best results. I'll always set the manual white balance first and then see if the daylight or artificial light presets look better; the artificial preset usually works best for me at night with a generator and lights as the light looks more natural and white, compared to an obvious yellow. Try white balancing outdoors off different colours; doing it off a clear blue sky gives a yellow/warm tint to the footage. The white balance function is the singularly most important feature on your camera.