SkatePerception
Sign in to follow this  
jordanpalmerwiens

They Come At Night - Short Skate Film

"Amidst the coldest winter our city has seen in the last 20 years, Seb Labbé, Joshua Bos, Adam Wawrzynczak and Chris Marleau braved through the woods in search of some fabled skate spots."

This is my first time ever shooting a narrative type situation. I'm coming from strictly skateboarding but I adore cinema/cinematic shots so for this Maru (what started as a look book) video I wanted to try it out. By all means the acting is cheesy and the cuts are bad right before it goes into the skate scene because I had no idea what I was doing haha. Anyway the whole concept was to incorporate Drew Mosley's art into a skate film. He built and painted all of the characters and all of the ramps in the video and the idea of the video was built around his little forest creatures. So enjoy us freezing our asses off just in time for spring on a monday such as thus!

Tech specs:

D800 at 24p

24-70 2.8

HPX170 at 24p and 60p

Arri Lights

Grading:

All files converted with 5DtoRGB

FilmConvert Kodak Vision 3 200T 5213 16mm

RGB Curves/Fast Color Corrector

Adobe CS6 Suite

• Like 3

First of all, really awesome to see you trying something new. I've always liked your work and it's cool to see you incorporating cinema into skate films. I really enjoyed the overall vibe. A lot of skate filmers these days are trying to get cinematic and often come across as gimmicky or disingenuous. This felt genuine and from the heart, and I really appreciate that. It kind of had a little Joe Castrucci vibe to it.