SkatePerception

What's up guys! I've been shooting a lot of skateboarding photos lately instead of filmiing and i've been using a neewer high speed sync external flash with triggers. sometimes the light can be too harsh and you cannot see the effect that the flash has, even with brand new or charged batteries. So basically i'm looking for anything affordable when it comes to Strobes. I've never used strobes before so i don't really know what i'm supposed to be using with it when it comes to batteries and using it outside and all that. if anyone has any suggestions on what i can go look at that'd be rad and i'd appreciate it!

i'll have some links to something i'm looking at but i'm not 100% sure if they're gonna do the job. I'll also post a link to my flickr so you can see the type of photos i wanna be shooting

http://ebay.to/21Y7xiL

flickr.com/ericdanielphoto

thank you in advance yall!

theres no information about the duration and you'd probably have a hard time getting modifiers and accessories for it. a cheap option (i have two) are the alien bee B400 - http://www.paulcbuff.com/b400.php

they're the lowest power out of all of the alien bees but have the fastest duration, and at full power! a lot of other flashes/strobes will have their fastest duration at their lowest setting.

speed lights also work good too because of their size, i would definitely recommend picking up one by the brand of your camera because you can use it on top of the camera or as fill.

if you want to shoot outdoors with the alien bee, you'll need one of these - http://www.paulcbuff.com/vm120.php

you can potentially connect two flashes to it which i have done before. you have to deal with cords in the shots that you need to clone out later, unless you're really sneaky. but it is recommended that you buy one for each flash. if you have an outlet nearby and a lot of extension cord, it can work too lol.